Let’s Talk: Laser and sun exposure

Summer is at our door steps. The sun is shining, everyone is heading out to enjoy the nice summer heat, and you, well, you still have to be careful. If you are presently undergoing laser treatments, or you are considering it, you must first learn that the sun isn’t your friend. But, don’t despair! We’ll teach you how you can keep up with your laser treatments, all the while enjoying your summer!

Whether you are undergoing laser hair removal treatments or a series of fractional laser sessions, avoiding sun exposure is strongly recommended by Dermamode’s team. It doesn’t matter what your skin tone is, everyone must protect their skin from sun rays, as we are all equally susceptible to the nasty side effects it can bring. Before jumping into your summer treatments, it is important that you know that the sun can cause skin sensitivity, making you more susceptible to bad reactions and side effects. These reactions can go anywhere from short-term irritation all the way to long-term hyperpigmentation, which is can be difficult to treat. So, before any appointment, make sure you do not have an active suntan on the areas you are treating. 

What is an active suntan?

An active suntan is a tan which is quite recent (within the past two to three weeks). This tan retains pigment, heat and sensitivity from the sun into the skin, meaning your skin is not ready for an advanced treatment. As the tan dissipates, the tone dulls down and loses its “summer glow,” which, in some cases, can receive a laser treatment. Here are the important guidelines to follow when undergoing laser treatments:

*Please note that your medical aesthetician can identify an active suntan at a glance. If you believe your tan might still be active, call and change your appointment. 

Before your appointment:

Make sure you protect the areas you are treating at least 2 weeks before your appointment. No laser treatments can be done on an active tan! If you don’t want to lose your appointment, protect your skin.

For this appointment, you must also stop active ingredients at least 3 days prior.

After your appointment:

After your appointment, you should keep protecting your skin, as it is now sensitive. We recommend no sun exposure on the treated areas for a minimum of 2 weeks post-treatment. 

For the use of any active ingredients, please ask your medical aesthetician for advice on when to start using them.

Sun protection 101

Unlike what you may have thought, you will not have to be confined to your house all summer for these laser treatments. With the right precautions, you can still enjoy the outdoors. So here are the guidelines:

  1. Apply SPF 30+ sunscreen every two hours. Whether you leave your house or not, you should wear sunscreen every single day. The sun comes in through your windows, so even if you aren’t taking a stroll outside, make sure you’ve applied your sunscreen!
  2. Wear clothing which covers the treated areas. Cover all the regions you are treating with clothing so you may minimize your chances of accidentally tanning.
  3. Find some shade. Whether you’re walking outside, eating a picnic or hiking, try to seek some shade. However, staying in the shade is no excuse to forget your sunscreen!

Remember: If you have an active suntan during your appointment, it may be cancelled.

A little extra attention for the face and neck

If you’re treating your face or neck during summer, you must be very careful, as these regions are the most likely to be exposed to the sun. In these cases, we strongly recommend both a rigorous sunscreen application and a wide-brimmed hat at all times.

You are now armed and ready for your summer laser treatments! By adhering to these guidelines, you can be confident that you have minimized your chances of having side effects, all the while taking some fresh air. If you do happen to have any doubts, do not hesitate to contact Dermamode, by email or by phone, so you may talk to a specialist.

Pourquoi éviter le soleil lors des traitements laser?

On se réjouit à voir le beau temps d’été à nos portes, avec le soleil brillant, les oiseaux chantants, et maintenant vous me dites que je dois toujours me cacher du soleil?! Il se peut bien que oui! Si vous êtes en train de faire une série de traitements laser, vous devez savoir que le soleil n’est pas votre ami. Ici, nous expliquerons le pourquoi et nous vous donnerons des astuces pour bien se protéger contre les rayons de soleil, tout en profitant pleinement de l’été!

Que vous faites votre épilation permanente au laser ou vous suivez une série de laser fractionné, l’exposition au soleil est fortement déconseillée par nos professionnels. Peaux claires, peaux foncées, il faut se protéger! Nous sommes tous susceptibles aux effets néfastes des rayons UV. Donc, avant de débuter vos traitements d’été, il est important de savoir que le soleil peut entrainer une sensibilité accrue de la peau, ce qui n’est pas idéal lors des traitements avec des lasers puissants. Cette sensibilité peut causer des effets secondaires qui peuvent avoir des répercussions à long terme, comme de l’hyperpigmentation ou de l’hypopigmentation, qui créeront un teint inégal et difficile à traiter. Alors, assurez-vous de ne pas avoir de bronzage actif avant votre rendez-vous.

Qu’est-ce qu’un bronzage actif?

Un bronzage actif est un bronzage récent (deux à trois dernières semaines). Un bronzage « vieillissant » ternit, et donc n’a pas le même éclat qu’un bronzage actif. Le bronzage actif retient la pigmentation, la chaleur du soleil et rend votre peau plus sensible, ce qui veut dire que votre peau n’est pas prête pour votre traitement de laser, créant un potentiel d’effets secondaires disgracieux. Alors, voici comment l’éviter:

*Attention! Vos esthéticiennes médicales peuvent repérer un bronzage actif à l’œil nu, vous ne pourrez pas les tromper. Donc si vous croyez être encore bronzé, appelez-nous pour changer votre rendez-vous.

Avant les traitements: 

Assurez-vous de vous protéger du soleil un minimum de deux semaines avant votre rendez-vous. Aucun traitement laser ne peut se faire sur un bronzage actif, donc ne perdez pas votre rendez-vous, protégez-vous!

Vous devez aussi arrêter l’utilisation des produits actifs, au moins trois jours avant. 

Après les traitements: 

Après votre traitement, vous devez toujours faire attention! Votre peau est encore sensible, donc protégez vous pour une durée de deux semaines après la date du rendez-vous. 

Demandez à votre esthéticienne ou médecin quand vous pouvez recommencer vos produits actifs à la maison. 

Comment bien se protéger du soleil:

Et non, vous n’êtes pas condamné à rester confiné dans votre maison pour faire vos traitements laser! Vous pouvez toujours profiter de votre été, si vous suivez ces directives.

  1. Appliquez de la crème solaire FPS 30+ toutes les deux heures. Que vous sortiez ou non, vous devez porter de la crème solaire chaque jour. Le soleil pénètre à travers les fenêtres, donc même si vous ne prenez pas de l’air frais, assurez-vous de l’avoir appliqué!
  2. Portez des vêtements qui recouvrent les régions que vous traitez. Couvrez toutes les régions que vous traitez avec des vêtements en tout temps afin de minimiser l’exposition au soleil.
  3. Cherchez l’ombre. Que vous mangez un pique-nique dans le parc ou faites une randonnée, essayez de vous mettre à l’ombre le plus possible. Mais ceci n’est pas une excuse pour oublier la crème solaire!

Rappelez-vous que si vous arrivez à votre rendez-vous avec un bronzage actif, le traitement n’aura pas lieu.

Une petite note pour le laser au niveau du visage et du cou!

Si vous traitez votre visage et votre cou en été, vous devez porter une attention particulière à votre exposition au soleil. Ce n’est pas une partie facile de protéger votre visage et votre cou du soleil et, pour cette raison, l’application de votre crème solaire toutes les deux heures et le port d’un chapeau à large bord sont des non négociables. 

Voilà! Vous êtes maintenant équipé pour débuter vos traitements laser en plein été! Ne craignez rien, en suivant ces directives, vous profiterez de votre été sans avoir à arrêter vos traitements. Dans tous les cas de doutes, n’hésitez pas à contacter Dermamode par courriel ou par téléphone.