Living with Rosacea

Rosacea is not curable but we have the tools to treat it and help you live confidently.

If you have persistent or recurrent redness on your face, an appearance of tiny superficial blood vessels on your cheeks and forehead, or dry, bloodshot eyes, you could have rosacea.5

Rosacea is a chronic inflammatory disorder affecting the skin that occurs in about 13 million Americans.1,2 This typically occurs between ages 30 and 50 in fair skinned people of northern and eastern European origin. Early rosacea manifests as diffuse background erythema (temporary redness) and flushing. In later stages, the vascular component is more prominent, with the development of telangiectasia on the nose, nasolabial folds, cheeks, glabella, and chin. Acne type symptoms such as papules and pustules can emerge in the same distribution. More common in women, rosacea may be more severe in men, in whom large inflammatory nodules and soft-tissue hypertrophy may be disfiguring. Ocular rosacea, including erythema and telangiectasia (small veins), is seen in over half of rosacea patients. 3 Rosacea doesn’t seem to affect other parts of the body and are more common in lighter skin types.

The best way to treat this

The pulsed-dye laser (Vbeam) benefits from a long history (15+ years) of safety and success in the treatment of vascular lesions and rosacea symptoms. An abundance of articles in the dermatology and plastic surgery literature corroborates the wide range of potential treatment course for patients.4

In a recent study, it was observed that greater than 80% improvement was seen in all 25 patients treated. There were no side effects, such as bruising noted in any of these patients. Posttreatment redness and swelling were noticeable in some patients and always resolved within a few hours. 3

Surface vascularity in rosacea is minimally improved by medications. Pulsed-dye laser treatment remains the gold standard for treatment of redness, telangiectasia, and transient flushing.

That being said, pulsed-dye lasers, such as the Vbeam, provides a dramatic new tool, which involves less downtime and can allow effective treatments without bruising for some patients with rosacea. For these individuals, who previously avoided laser therapy, the Vbeam can be life altering. 3

Find your receipt

Unfortunately, rosacea is treatable but not curable. At times hearing this can be discouraging, especially for those that have tried a variety of skin care products without seeing the results. The good news is that with these advanced laser technologies, we can effectively reduce the appearance of redness, remove veins and other rosacea related conditions. We suggest doing Vbeam treatments every 3-4 weeks depending on the severity of the condition or as needed. We have also noticed that Glycolic or Lactic Peels are great for sensitive skin type. Mixing the two acids together will provide the benefits of professional exfoliation to sensitive skin without aggravating or creating redness.  Glycolic acid, derived from sugar cane, is a gentle exfoliation suitable for sensitive skin while the lactic acid, derived from milk, will help reduce redness thanks to its calming properties. We have found that chemical peels, when combined with Vbeam treatments at suggested intervals, can help maintain results provided by a series of Vbeam treatments. Of course, the right products can make all the difference when dealing with Rosacea flair ups. Its important to use products with calming properties and will not aggravate your skin.

Keep in mind good results are attainable. We just have to find your skin care receipt!  Contact us to speak to a specialist about the right products and treatment plans!

  1. Millikan L. Recognizing rosacea. Postgrad Med, 1999;105 (2):149-158.
  2. Hirsch RJ, Weinberg JM. Rosacea 2000. Cutis, 2000;66:125-128.
  3. Jeffery S. Dover, M.D., F.R.E.P.C. and Murad Alam, M.D. Pulsed-Dye Laser Treatment of Facial Rosacea
  4. Richards KA, Garden JM. The pulsed-dye laser for cutaneous vascular and nonvascular lesions. Semin Cutan Med Surg, 2000;19:276-286.
  5. Heidi Moawad, M.D., ‘How Rosacea is diagnosed’. VeryWell Health, 2020. https://www.verywellhealth.com/rosacea-diagnosis-4801732

Vivre avec la rosacée

La rosacée n’est pas guérissable, mais nous disposons des outils nécessaires pour la traiter et vous aider à vivre avec elle.

Si vous avez des rougeurs persistantes ou récurrentes sur le visage, une apparition de minuscules vaisseaux sanguins superficiels sur les joues et le front, ou des yeux secs et injectés de sang, vous pourriez être atteint de rosacée5.

La rosacée est un trouble inflammatoire chronique affectant la peau qui touche environ 13 millions d’Américains 1,2. Elle se manifeste généralement entre 30 et 50 ans chez les personnes à la peau claire d’origine d’Europe du Nord et de l’Est. La rosacée précoce se manifeste par un érythème diffus (rougeur temporaire) et des bouffées vasomotrices. Aux stades ultérieurs, la composante vasculaire est plus importante, avec le développement de télangiectasies sur le nez, les plis nasogéniens, les joues, la glabelle et le menton. Des symptômes de type acnéique, tels que des papules et des pustules, peuvent apparaître dans la même distribution. Plus fréquente chez les femmes, la rosacée peut être plus sévère chez les hommes, chez qui les gros nodules inflammatoires et l’hypertrophie des tissus mous peuvent être défigurants. La rosacée oculaire, y compris l’érythème et les télangiectasies (petites veines), est observée chez plus de la moitié des patients atteints de rosacée 3. La rosacée ne semble pas affecter d’autres parties du corps et est plus fréquente chez les types de peau plus clairs.

La meilleure façon de traiter la rosacée

Le laser à colorant pulsé (Vbeam) bénéficie d’une longue histoire (plus de 15 ans) de sécurité et de succès dans le traitement des lésions vasculaires et des symptômes de la rosacée. Une abondance d’articles dans la littérature dermatologique et de chirurgie plastique corrobore le large éventail de traitements possibles pour les patients4.

Dans une étude récente, on a observé une amélioration supérieure à 80 % chez les 25 patients traités. Aucun effet secondaire, tel que des ecchymoses, n’a été observé chez ces patients. Des rougeurs et des gonflements post-traitement ont été observés chez certains patients et ont toujours disparu en quelques heures3.

La vascularisation de surface dans la rosacée est très peu améliorée par les médicaments. Le traitement au laser à colorant pulsé reste la référence pour le traitement des rougeurs, des télangiectasies et des bouffées vasomotrices transitoires.

Ceci étant dit, les lasers à colorant pulsé, tels que le Vbeam, constituent un nouvel outil spectaculaire, impliquant moins de temps d’arrêt et pouvant permettre des traitements efficaces sans hématomes pour certains patients atteints de rosacée. Pour ces personnes, qui évitaient auparavant la thérapie au laser, le Vbeam peut changer leur vie3.

Trouvez le traitement adapté à vos besoins

Malheureusement, la rosacée peut être traitée mais ne peut être guérie. Parfois, entendre cela peut être décourageant, surtout pour ceux ayant essayé une variété de produits de soins de la peau sans en voir les résultats. La bonne nouvelle, c’est qu’avec ces technologies laser avancées, nous pouvons réduire efficacement l’apparence des rougeurs, éliminer les veines et autres affections liées à la rosacée. Nous suggérons d’effectuer des traitements Vbeam toutes les 3 à 4 semaines, en fonction de la gravité de l’affection ou selon les besoins. Nous avons également remarqué que les peelings glycoliques ou lactiques sont excellents pour les peaux sensibles. En mélangeant ces deux acides, on obtient les avantages d’une exfoliation professionnelle pour les peaux sensibles sans aggraver ou créer de rougeurs. L’acide glycolique, dérivé de la canne à sucre, est une exfoliation douce qui convient aux peaux sensibles, tandis que l’acide lactique, dérivé du lait, aidera à réduire les rougeurs grâce à ses propriétés calmantes. Nous avons constaté que les peelings chimiques, lorsqu’ils sont associés aux traitements Vbeam aux intervalles suggérés, peuvent aider à maintenir les résultats fournis par une série de traitements Vbeam. Bien entendu, les bons produits peuvent faire toute la différence lorsqu’il s’agit de traiter les poussées de rosacée. Il est important d’utiliser des produits aux propriétés apaisantes qui n’aggraveront pas votre peau.

Gardez à l’esprit que de bons résultats sont possibles. Il suffit de trouver la recette de soins de la peau qui vous convient!

Contactez-nous pour parler à un spécialiste des produits et des plans de traitement adaptés à vos besoins!

  1. Millikan L. Recognizing rosacea. Postgrad Med, 1999;105 (2):149-158.
  2. Hirsch RJ, Weinberg JM. Rosacea 2000. Cutis, 2000;66:125-128.
  3. Jeffery S. Dover, M.D., F.R.E.P.C. and Murad Alam, M.D. Pulsed-Dye Laser Treatment of Facial Rosacea
  4. Richards KA, Garden JM. The pulsed-dye laser for cutaneous vascular and nonvascular lesions. Semin Cutan Med Surg, 2000;19:276-286.
  5. Heidi Moawad, M.D., ‘How Rosacea is diagnosed’. VeryWell Health, 2020. https://www.verywellhealth.com/rosacea-diagnosis-4801732